What is Gluten Free?

Many individuals are diagnosed with something known as Celiac disease, a genetic-based auto-immune condition that affects the lining of the small intestine, making the absorption of food difficult. Due to this condition, they avoid gluten, a protein found in wheat and most wheat-based products. Till a few years ago, these individuals could not enjoy pizza, bread, cookies and other bakery products since all of them have gluten in the flour. Now-a-days, many manufacturers have product lines catering exclusively to those allergic to gluten; it is common to find flour and bakery products that are labeled gluten-free.

Not all grains have gluten in them; many of the common varieties such as rice, corn, millets, sorghum, wild rice, buckwheat (kuttu), quinoa, and Amarnath are naturally gluten-free.

While Mirchi.com strongly urges its sellers to clearly indicate if a product is Gluten Free in the product detail page, it does not guarantee that the information is correct. We recommend that you contact a seller/fulfiller to confirm by clicking on the envelope icon on the top right-hand corner of the site, next to the name of the seller/fulfiller.

Gluten-Free products are indicated by this icon in the Dietary Information section of a product: